Latest News

Team Meriden: Tildesley Champions 12 years running

In an extraordinary display of skill and teamwork, Meriden’s Tennis Squad has brought home the Tildesley Shield for the twelfth consecutive year.

Today, after a series of dynamic matches, Giselle Guillen and Subeksha Suren Raj were named Tildesley Doubles Champions after a close final round against Meriden teammates, Maxi Lipic-McFadyen and Joanna Papastamouli.

In another milestone for the matchless squad, 2021 marks the eleventh consecutive year Meriden has taken out the top four places in the Tildesley Doubles Tournament, with Doubles pairs, Sarah Mazaraki and Miranda Xu, and Layla Ibrahim and Chilee Roland, striding determinedly through the competition all the way to the semi-final round.

The Singles Tournament was held, in part, at Meriden for the first time and the School’s players dominated the top spots, with three of four semi-finalists members of the Meriden Squad. Indiya McLeod earned the title of Runner-Up following an intense finals match.

The School is exceptionally proud of its Tildesley competitors who played every match to the best of their ability, supporting their teammates and showing respect to their opponents on-court and off. Retaining the coveted Shield in such an intense competition in which the players’ skill intensifies each year is a remarkable achievement.

The Meriden Tildesley Squad is led by dedicated Head Coach, Ross Anton. Members of the 2021 Squad are:

Year 7 Year 8 Year 9
Amy Chen
Jessica Dimovski
Giselle Guillen
Abigail Gunawan
Sara Hallani
Crystal Huang
Georgia Massey
Georgia Nicholls
Savannah Soulos
Cecilia Teoh
Panayiota Vasiliades
India Whip
Sara Zulamovski
Alexia Angelopoulos
Laura Baquero Arcila
Mariana Baquero Arcila
Georgia Karatasos
Natalia Kendrovski
Andrea Lavers
Sofia Zulamovski
Elektra Arseniou
Calista Savva
Phoebe Strachan
Hannah Taleb
Miranda Xu
Year 10 Year 11 Year 12
Chiara Freeman
Nina Krecklenberg
Sienna Leeson
Skye McLeod
Joanna Papastamouli
Sarah Rokusek
Soha Singh
Te Akaiti Toa
Farah Zulfiqar
Nicole Clements
Claudia Coombes
Piper Freeman
Samantha Lavers
Maxi Lipic-McFadyen
Sarah Mazaraki
Indiya McLeod
Elaine Zhang
Madeline Ayres
Dunja Dudic
Layla Ibrahim
Penina Kamu
Chilee Roland
Kaitlin Spanoudakis
Subeksha Suren Raj
Tia Vuk-Luboya
Meriden has continued its success in the prestigious Tildesley Tennis Shield tournament for the fifteenth consecutive year, retaining the Championship...
A group of thirty-six Meriden students from Years 9 to 12 spent three weeks in Germany and Italy during the...
Three of Meriden’s high achievers from the Class of 2023 recently returned to a school assembly to share the strategies...