Latest News

Girls head to Perth for National Nitro Finals

Meriden's medal winners at the Nitro event

Meriden girls will soon be flying to Perth to compete in the National Nitro Schools Challenge after taking out first place at the NSW Nitro Schools Challenge in September. The event is a knockout-style competition in which the top two schools in each age group from each state qualify.

Meriden’s Intermediate A Team performed strongly over ten events, with three of the girls, Nakeisha Brimble, Genevieve McKeown and Ellen Murphy, winning their events and achieving personal best performances. Mid-way through the competition, the point score was announced with Meriden leading with three events to go.

Intermediate B team also performed well on the night, with the girls giving several personal best performances and finishing in tenth place overall.

The School’s premier place in the Nitro Challenge came right down to the final relay, after which the Meriden Intermediate Team was announced Champion Team for 2019. The Team was so excited to hear this news, particularly because three of our seven team members were juniors competing up an age group.

The Athletics Team’s success comes off the back of a series of strong results in 2019, including placing fifth in the IGSSA Track and Field Championships and taking home the Kay Couldwell Cup for Most Improved School.

The School congratulates its athletes on their hard work and thanks Head Coach Athletics, Mrs Nicole Boegman-Stewart, for her leadership and development of the team.

Intermediate A Team

Karina Bell, Nakeisha Brimble, Milan Ji, Genevieve McKeown, Ellen Murphy, Grace Spence, Amelie Sun.

Intermediate B Team

Salam Ahmad, Elise Anderson, Tara Kalivitis, Alexandra Katsilis, Regina Lee, Sienna Leeson, Maxi Lipic-McFayden, Abigail Omage.

Team Meriden has earned the title of the state’s top schoolgirls’ chess team after securing a victory in the NSW...
Meriden girls have demonstrated their ability to grapple with complex philosophical concepts, placing third overall in the Australasian Philosothon and...
For the second consecutive year, budding writers, Clarice, Year 2, and Kaitlyn, Year 5, have achieved Gold Awards in their...